Logo du Club

Royal Club of Gastronomes in Belgium

fr | en

2017 Events

9 December

Sea Gill **

Chef : Yves Mattagne

Web site


 Comments of the President
We promised it in 2016, we did it in 2017: the Club returned to the Sea Grill restaurant for its 79th annual gala dinner. The guests were pleased to welcome Dr Jean Vitaux, President of the International Academy of Gastronomy. At the end of the evening, he commented on the dinner in the presence of Chef Yves Mattagne. After some original appetizers, a slightly smoked creamy parmentier mousse and a quail egg wisely highlighted some caviar of huso dauricus. The ensemble was particularly pleasant in the mouth and married well with a dry wine of Sauternes with beautiful notes of pear and quince (Clos des Lunes d'Argent, 2014). To follow, Yves offered us some very large langoustines from Iceland. The perfect control of the cooking of these delicate crustaceans (served for a large number of diners), was noted by Jean. He saw the sign of a great chef. The Domaine Saint Amand 2015 - pale gold dress, very balanced and with a beautiful material - came to accompany the dish. For the main course, an original preparation of a doe fillet contrasted with the more conventional preparations that some diners had tasted in October during a tour organized by the Club in the Black Forest. Here an Asian-inspired sauce and sweet spices highlighted the melt-in-the-mouse meat. For this dish, sommelier Fabrice D'hulster had offered a wine from Toro, very lively on the palate and with aromas of plums and blueberries. The diners finished the meal with a chocolate dessert whose bitterness was amplified by a passion-fruit gel, and contrasted with caramel and popcorn. A round of applause to thank Yves and his team closed the evening. [Photos] [Menu]

19 November

Colette *

Chef : Thijs Vervloet

Web site


 Comments of the President
On 19 November 2017, after a journey in the Black Forest, the members of the Club found themselves in the province of Antwerp. One of our members made a nice discovery in the commune of Westerlo. There, in the living-room of an old house that belonged to his grandmother, the young and talented chef Thijs Vervloet, opened his restaurant to which he naturally gave the name of his grandmother: Colette. This former second of 't Zilte worked for Joël Robuchon and Johan Segers. Thijs offered us a classic cuisine with intense, yet balanced, flavours. As soon as we arrived, Thijs and his wife welcomed us warmly. Beautiful seasonal products were put in the spotlight and their cooking was exemplary. The hare saddle, hunted in the surrounding area, melt in the mouth and was accompanied very well by salsify and vinous pears. This dish was following a magnificent creation around the fleshy and still moist-from-the-ocean langoustines, prepared in three ways: ravioli, tartar and pan-fried. Chocolate lovers enjoyed a superb and light bitter chocolate pudding. Despite the small team, the service was effective. The sommelier had prepared an interesting selection of flasks, one of which, from Bulgaria, was breaking some a priori. Here's an address to watch! [Photos] [Menu]

24 September

Le Cor de Chasse *

Chef: Mario Elias

Website


 Comments of the Honorary President
On Sunday, September 24, 2017, the Royal Club of Gastronomes in Belgium lunched in the heart of the peaceful village of Wéris (Province of Luxembourg), known for hosting the largest concentration of megaliths in the country, between the valleys of Ourthe and Aisne, near Durbuy, in an old farm luxuriously converted into a restaurant and hotel: Le Cor de Chasse. Chef, Mario Elias, offered us innovative cuisine. With his team he likes to propose several declinations of the same product, like those big langoustines that we appreciated as a starter in two servings. He also likes to use the vegetables and plants of his garden, which is next to the dining room. Quality cuisine, in a peaceful location.. [Photos]

22 July

Boury *

Award of "Prix au Chef de l'Avenir"

Chef: Tim Boury

Website


 Comments of the President
On July 22nd, 2017, the Royal Club of Gastronomes in Belgium awarded its Prix au Chef de l'Avenir to Tim Boury, chef of the eponymous restaurant. The award was supported, this year, by the International Academy of Gastronomy. The restaurant is located in an old bourgeois house entirely renovated to today's modern standards. The welcome by the brother and the wife of the chef is very warm and smiling. The eye is attracted by the bright colours of the decorations on the table dressed with a perfectly ironed white tablecloth, then the gaze is on the verdant garden bordering the large terrace. A refreshing towel flavoured with eucalyptus wakes up the smell, and a small ball of sorbet cleans up the palate. The meal can begin. A Bollinger champagne accompanies a ballet of very varied appetisers and encouraging the journey of the taste buds (tom yam soup with salmon, cherry tomatoes with basil, oyster of Marennes-Oléron, etc.). Then comes the first dish: a sashimi of line-caught sea bass of excellent quality adorned with a cream skilfully perfumed with horseradish. Then turbot: thick and juicy, combined with crab of the North Sea and magnified by a juice of bouillabaisse. The palate is subdued. We're asking for more. Main dish of summer deer from Austria. Melting on the palate, it is accompanied by lettuce and celeriac, bringing freshness and lightness to the dish. For dessert: big very sweet black cherries married with elderberry flower. The bottles are judiciously chosen by Frederik who introduced us to a fruity and refreshing Pinot Noir from August Kesseler, perfectly suited to the deer. The guests are conquered by the creativity of the chef, the quality of the dishes, the emphasis on the basic products, but also by the team brilliant by its celerity and kindness. A great moment of culinary plenitude and a well deserved "Award to the Chef of the Future" for a chef who has not finished to surprise us. [Photos] [Menu]

8 July

Hof van Cleve ***

Award of "Prix Cristal" of the Club and of "Prix au Sommelier"of AIG

Chef: Peter Goossens

Website


 Comments of the President
On July 8th 2017, the Royal Club of Gastronomes in Belgium awarded its Cristal Prize to Peter Goossens, head of the three-star restaurant Hof Van Cleve. In a rural setting, the guests were welcomed by a team of waiters who showed them the way to the tables of a sunny terrace, to taste appetisers accompanied by a Deutz champagne. The place exudes elegance and a sober luxury. In the dining room, the team led by Mrs Goossens is remarkably efficient, attentive to the slightest detail while favoring the comfort of the customers. A little less than a year ago Club members had been delighted with Goossens' meal, which earned him the prize. The Chef continues his upward path towards perfection while reinventing himself: since the last visit, he has offered a completely new menu, all his porcelaine dishes have all been replaced, the presentation of the dishes has adopted a slightly different, more dichotomous style. Goossens astonishes us with improbable associations like chicken livers and melon. He amuses us by playing on the textures, as in this dish of langoustines and zucchini. He dazzled us by the cooking of his extraordinarily tender burbot. The quest for excellence does not stop at the plate. And the Club presented sommelier Mathieu Vanneste, the Prix au Sommelier on behalf of the International Academy of Gastronomy. Mathieu is a wine enthusiast and like no other knows how to tune the dishes with amazing flasks at reasonable prices. He has a gift to find unusual vintages around the world and to present them with all the restrained poetry that one should. An obligatory visit for any gastronome in Belgium! [Photos] [Menu]

17 June

The Jane **

Chef: Nick Bril

Website


 Comments of the President
Upon arrival in front of the building which houses "The Jane" we understand that this restaurant is really out of the ordinary. In this old chapel of a military hospital transformed by the German architect Piet Boon the chef Nick Bril prepares an inventive cuisine of high flight. The space is bright and the coloured stained glass windows let an almost divine light on our large wooden table facing the choir, now serving as a kitchen. The appetisers and the light dishes follow each other at a regular and pleasant rhythm for a spectacle of more than four hours. Elegant and meticulous presentation with lots of bright colors. Top quality products. Little cooking. The bottles chosen and presented by the young sommelier Gianluca Di Taranto were just as surprising as the dishes. Finally, one notes the efficient and smiling service that is distinguished by unusual outfits. A great moment of gastronomy which did not prevent the members of the Club and their guests to then go for a cheese tasting with expert affineur Frederic Van Tricht. Van Tricht leur a savamment commentés. [Photos] [Menu]

21 May

Bartholomeus **

Chef: Bart Desmidt

Website


 Comments of the President
It is comfortably seated in leather armchairs, with views of the North Sea and the sand beach of Knokke and its white barracks, that members of the Royal Club of Gastronomes in Belgium and their guests have enjoyed the meticulous and tasty cuisine of Bart Desmidt in his restaurant Bartholomeus. Fish plays a key role in the kitchen of Bart, a fisherman's grandson. But his register is much more extensive. The important thing for him is the quality of the product and the season. Little quibble here. In his own words: "The product first and foremost. I always want the combinations to be consistent in terms of tastes and not too much on the plate. The host must be able to taste everything he is eating. It is the taste that counts in the first place and one must be able to recognise the product. In my eyes, the essential base remains a good piece of meat or fish". And that's what we found through a delicious and very fine lunch. A subtle combination of Wagyu beef and Gillardeau oyster. Perfect cooking of a large langoustine from Brittany associated with slightly crunchy Maline asparagus. And a surprising chocolate dessert! Indoors, Sandra, Bart's wife, and her team, provide excellent service and are committed to responding effectively to guests' requests. [Photos] [Menu]

23 April

L'Eau Vive **

Chef: Pierre Résimont

Website


 Comments of the President
The small XVIIth century mill where chef Pierre Résimont established his restaurant, is in the middle of a wooded environment and it enjoys an exceptional charm. The conservatory that extends the old building allowed the members of the Club to enjoy the view of the large terrace caressed by a river, the Burnot. The chef offered us a colorful and precise cuisine featuring seasonal produce. The asparagus enjoyed a rather unusual preparation, thanks to a delicious Muscat sauce. The milk-lamb of the Pyrenées, whose flesh was particularly tender, had a fine and crisp skin which enhanced the taste of the meat. We rejoice at the bright and fresh colours of the dishes.. [Photos] [Menu]

18 March

Comme Chez Soi **

Chef: Lionel Rigolet

Website


 Comments of the President
As previous years around the same time, after their annual General Assembly, members of the Royal Club of Gastronomes in Belgium, rejoiced at restaurant Comme Chez Soi. The Chef, Lionel Rigolet, sells happiness, guests were unanimous. From the selection of the products (nobachi shrimp, hops sprouts, Duroc pork) to the choice of seasonings, Lionel pays attention to all the details. He puts back sauce on the forefront, light and flavourful sauces which subtly magnify the product. Welcome and service are always extremely smiley and Lionel’s wife together with the highly professional, discrete and efficient team put the guest at ease. [Photos] [Menu]

18 February

Bruneau *

Chef: Jean-Pierre Bruneau

Website


 Comments of the President
The period from November to February is the black truffle season, tuber melanosporum. This rare, odorous and precious fungus has made many people dream. How to best serve it? We asked Jean-Pierre Bruneau to prepare for our Club a feuilleté of truffle with foie gras. And Mr. Bruneau does not joke with truffle : each guest received an entire "black diamond" of about forty grams. The heroes of the meal were taste and products; no unnecessary decorations here. To start, a seared lobster was applauded for its garlic-flavoured sauce. After the truffle pastry, we could enjoy some of the very first milk lambs of the year. From the Pyrenees in this case. A delicate white meat that melts in the mouth, accompanied by an extensive collection of vegetables. To conclude a traditional Grand Marnier souffé cooked to perfection. For wines, we opted for the sommelier's recommendations of relatively young vintages of Bordeaux (Château Haut-Plantade 2014), Burgundy (Savigny 1er Cru "Les Guettes" of the Louis Jadot estate) and Côtes du Rhône Les Abeilles 2013 by Jean-Luc Colombo). The attentive and considerate service of Véronique Dury and her team was at the height of this 40+ years old Belgium institution. [Photos] [Menu]

13 January

Bouchéry

Chef: Damien Bouchery

Website


 Comments of the Président
Clean decor. Thoughtful simplicity. Abundance in lightness. Extensive use of plants. Not so well known, yet well matched wines. Smiling service. Here are some impressions of the first 2017 dinner of the members of the Royal Club of Gastronomes of Belgium. Damien Bouchery is one of those cooks who has begun a transition to a new way of eating: vegetables, cereals, fruits, are highlighted by high-quality meats and fish, especially Frédéric Antoine's poultry. A "natural" cuisine. The spelt homemade bread is made from sourdough. The great selection of biodynamic wines proposed by Alexander sublimates the dishes and avoids headaches. Digestion is light. [Photos]

Logo du Club

Club Royal des
Gastronomes de Belgique

fr | en

Programme 2017

9 décembre

Sea Gill **

Chef : Yves Mattagne

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Chose promise en 2016, chose faite en 2017 : le Club est retourné au restaurant Sea Grill pour le dîner de gala de sa 79ème année. Les convives ont eu le plaisir d’accueillir le Docteur Jean Vitaux, Président de l’Académie Internationale de la Gastronomie. En fin de soirée, celui-ci a commenté le dîner en présence du Chef Yves Mattagne. Après quelques mise-en-bouche originales, une mousse parmentière onctueuse légèrement fumée et un œuf de caille mettaient judicieusement en évidence du caviar d’huso dauricus. L’ensemble était particulièrement agréable en bouche et se mariait bien avec un vin sec de Sauternes aux belles notes de poire et de coing (Clos des Lunes d’Argent, 2014). Pour suivre, Yves nous a proposé de très grosses langoustines d’Islande. La parfaite maitrise de la cuisson de ces crustacés délicats servis pour un grand nombre de convives, a été relevée par Jean qui y a vu le signe d’un grand chef. Le Domaine Saint Amand 2015 à la robe or clair, très équilibré et avec une belle matière, venait accompagner le met. En plat principal, une préparation originale de filet de biche contrastait avec des préparations plus classiques que certains convives avaient goûtées en octobre lors d’un voyage organisé par le Club en Forêt Noire. Ici une sauce d’inspiration asiatique et aux épices douces valorisait la viande fondante. Sur ce plat, le sommelier Fabrice d’Hulster avait proposé un vin de Toro, très vivant au palais et avec des arômes de prunes et de myrtilles. Les convives terminèrent le repas avec un dessert chocolaté dont l’amertume était amplifiée par un gel aux fruits de la passion, et contrastée avec du caramel et du popcorn. Une pluie d’applaudissements pour remercier Yves et son équipe clôturèrent la soirée. [Photos] [Menu]

19 novembre

Colette *

Chef : Thijs Vervloet

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Le 19 novembre 2017, après un beau voyage en Forêt Noire, les membres du Club se sont retrouvés dans la province d’Anvers. Un de nos membres y a fait une belle découverte dans la Commune de Westerlo. Là, dans la salle de séjour d’une ancienne maison qui appartenait à sa grand-mère, le jeune et talentueux chef Thijs Vervloet, a ouvert son restaurant auquel il a tout naturellement donné le nom de sa grand-mère : Colette. Cet ancien second de ’t Zilte a travaillé chez Joël Robuchon et Johan Segers. Thijs nous a proposé une cuisine classique aux saveurs intenses mais tout en équilibre. Dès notre arrivée, Thijs et son épouse nous ont réservé un accueil particulièrement chaleureux. Les beaux produits de saison furent mis à l’honneur et leur cuisson était exemplaire. Le râble de lièvre, chassé dans la région avoisinante, fondait en bouche et s’accompagnait très bien de salsifis et de poires vineuses. Ce plat suivait une magnifique réalisation autour de langoustines charnues et encore humides de l’eau de l’océan, préparées de trois façons : en ravioli, en tartare et poêlées. Les amateurs de chocolat se sont pourléchés avec une superbe réalisation légère au chocolat amer. Malgré la petite équipe, le service était efficace. La sommelière avait préparé une sélection intéressante de flacons, dont l’un, de Bulgarie, venait casser certains a priori. Voici une adresse à surveiller ! [Photos] [Menu]

24 septembre

Le Cor de Chasse *

Chef : Mario Elias

Site web


 Commentaire du Président d'Honneur
Le dimanche 24 septembre 2017, le Club Royal des Gastronomes de Belgique a déjeuné au cœur du paisible village de Wéris (Province du Luxembourg), connu pour accueillir la plus grande concentration de mégalithes du pays, entre les vallées de l’Ourthe et de l’Aisne, proche de Durbuy, dans une ancienne ferme luxueusement reconvertie en restaurant et hôtel: Le Cor de Chasse. Le chef, Mario Elias, nous a proposé une cuisine innovante. Avec son équipe il aime proposer plusieurs déclinaisons du même produit, comme ces grosses langoustines que nous avons appréciées en première entrée. Il aime aussi utiliser les légumes et plantes de son jardin, sur lequel s’ouvre la salle de restaurant. Cuisine de qualité, dans un endroit paisible. [Photos]

22 juillet

Boury *

Remise du Prix au Chef de l'Avenir

Chef : Tim Boury

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Le 22 juillet 2017, le Club Royal des Gastronomes de Belgique a remis son Prix au Chef de l’Avenir à Tim Boury, chef du restaurant éponyme. Le prix était soutenu cette année par l’Académie Internationale de la Gastronomie. Le restaurant est situé dans une ancienne maison bourgeoise entièrement remise au goût du jour. L’accueil par le frère et par l’épouse du chef est très chaleureux et souriant. L’œil est attiré par les couleurs vives des décorations de la table habillée d’un nappage blanc sans l’ombre d’un pli, puis le regard se porte sur le jardin verdoyant bordant la grande terrasse avenante. Une serviette rafraichissante parfumée à l’eucalyptus réveille l’odorat, et une petite boule de sorbet nettoie le palais. Le repas peut commencer. Un champagne Bollinger accompagne un ballet de mises en bouche très variées et incitant au voyage des papilles (soupe tom yam au saumon, tomates cerise au basilic, huître de Marennes-Oléron, etc.). Arrive ensuite le premier plat : un sashimi de bar de ligne d’excellente qualité agrémenté d’une crème aérienne habilement parfumée raifort. Ensuite du turbot : épais et juteux, combiné avec du crabe de la mer du Nord et magnifié par un jus de bouillabaisse. Le palais est subjugué. On en redemande. En plat principal du chevreuil d’été en provenance d’Autriche. Fondant en bouche, il est accompagné de laitue et de céleri rave, apportant fraicheur et légèreté au plat. En dessert de grosses cerises noires très sucrée mariées avec de la fleur de sureau. Les flacons sont judicieusement choisis par Frederik qui nous a fait découvrir un pinot noir fruité et rafraichissant d’August Kesseler, s’accommodant à merveille avec le chevreuil. Les invités sont conquis par la créativité du chef, la qualité des plats, la mise en avant des produits de base, mais également par l’équipe de salle brillant par sa célérité et sa gentillesse. Un grand moment de plénitude culinaire et un « Prix au Chef de l’Avenir » tout à fait mérité pour un chef qui n’a pas fini de nous étonner. [Photos] [Menu]

8 juillet

Hof van Cleve ***

Remise du Prix Cristal du Club et du Prix au Sommelier de l'AIG

Chef : Peter Goossens

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Le 8 Juillet 2017, le Club Royal des Gastronomes de Belgique remettait son prix Cristal à Peter Goossens, chef du restaurant triplement étoilé Hof Van Cleve. Dans un cadre champêtre, les convives furent accueillis par une équipe de serveurs qui les attendaient pour les conduire aux tables d’une terrasse ensoleillée, afin d’y déguster des mises en bouche accompagnées d’un champagne Deutz. Le lieu respire l’élégance et un luxe sobre. En salle, l’équipe dirigée par Madame Goossens est d’une efficacité remarquable, attentive au moindre détail tout en privilégiant le confort des clients. Un peu moins d’un an auparavant les membres du Club avait été enchantés par le repas réalisé par Goossens ce qui lui a valu le prix. Le chef continue son chemin ascendant vers la perfection tout en se réinventant : depuis la dernière visite, il propose un menu entièrement nouveau, toute sa vaisselle a été remplacée, la présentation des plats a adopté un style un peu différent, plus dichotomique. Goossens nous étonne avec des associations improbables comme les foies de volaille et le melon. Il nous amuse en jouant sur les textures, comme dans ce plat de langoustines et de courgette. Il nous ébloui par la cuisson de sa lotte extraordinairement tendre. La recherche de l’excellence ne s’arrête pas à l’assiette. Et le Club a remis au sommelier Mathieu Vanneste, le Prix au Sommelier au nom de l’Académie Internationale de la Gastronomie. Mathieu est un passionné du vin et comme nul autre sait accorder les plats avec des flacons étonnants à des prix raisonnables. Il a un don pour trouver des millésimes inhabituels autour du monde et pour les présenter avec toute la poésie retenue qu’il se doit. Un passage obligé pour tout gastronome en Belgique. [Photos] [Menu]

17 juin

The Jane **

Chef : Nick Bril

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Dès l’arrivée devant le bâtiment qui abrite The Jane on comprend que ce restaurant est vraiment hors du commun. Dans cette ancienne chapelle d’un hôpital militaire transformée par l’architecte allemand Piet Boon le chef Nick Bril prépare une cuisine inventive de haut vol. L’espace est lumineux et les vitraux colorés laissent passer une lumière presque divine sur notre grande table de bois face au chœur, faisant désormais office de cuisine. Les amuses bouche et les plats légers s’enchainent à un rythme régulier et agréable pour un spectacle de plus de quatre heures. Présentation élégante et minutieuse avec beaucoup de couleurs vives. Produits de première qualité. Peu de cuissons. Les flacons choisis et doctement présentés par le jeune sommelier Gianluca Di Taranto étaient tout aussi étonnants que les plats. Enfin, il faut noter le service efficace et souriant qui se distingue par des tenus, là encore, inhabituelles. Un très grand moment de gastronomie qui n’a pas empêché les membres du Club et leurs invités d’aller ensuite déguster quelques fromages que l’expert affineur Frederic Van Tricht leur a savamment commentés. [Photos] [Menu]

21 mai

Bartholomeus **

Chef : Bart Desmidt

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
C’est confortablement installés dans des fauteuils de cuir, avec une vue sur la Mer du Nord et la plage de Knokke et ses baraques blanches, que les membres du Club Royal des Gastronomes de Belgique et leurs invités ont pu apprécier la cuisine méticuleuse et savoureuse de Bart Desmidt dans son restaurant Bartholomeus. Le poisson joue un rôle primordial dans la cuisine de Bart, petit-fils de pêcheur. Mais son registre est nettement plus étendu. L’important pour lui est la qualité du produit et la saison. Peu de chipotage ici. Selon ses propres termes : « Le produit avant tout. Je tiens toujours à ce que les combinaisons soient cohérentes en termes de goûts et qu’il n’y ait pas trop sur l’assiette. L’hôte doit pouvoir goûter tout ce qu’il est en train de manger. C’est le goût qui compte en premier lieu et l’on doit pouvoir reconnaître le produit. À mes yeux, la base essentielle reste un bon morceau de viande ou de poisson. » Et c’est ce que nous avons retrouvé au travers d’un déjeuner d’une grande finesse. Association subtile de bœuf Wagyu et d’huître Gillardeau. Cuisson parfaite d’une grosse langoustine de Bretagne associée à des asperges de Maline légèrement croquantes. Et un dessert chocolaté surprenant ! En salle, Sandra, l’épouse de Bart, et son équipe, assurent un service excellement bien orchestré et s’attachent à répondre efficacement aux demandes des convives. [Photos] [Menu]

23 avril

L'Eau Vive **

Chef : Pierre Résimont

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Le petit moulin du XVIIème siècle où s’est établi le chef Pierre Résimont, est au cœur d’un environnement boisé et il jouit d’un charme exceptionnel. La verrière qui prolonge l’ancienne bâtisse a permis aux membres du Club réunis de profiter de la vue sur la grande terrasse caressée par une rivière, le Burnot. Le chef nous a proposé une cuisine colorée et précise mettant à l’honneur des produits de saison. Les asperges bénéficiaient d’une préparation assez peu courante, grâce à une sauce délicieuse au muscat. L’agneau de lait des Pyrénées dont la chair était particulièrement tendre, avait une panoufle fine et craquante qui rehaussait le goût de la viande. On se réjouit devant les couleurs vives et fraiches des plats. [Photos] [Menu]

18 mars

Comme Chez Soi **

Chef : Lionel Rigolet

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Comme les années précédentes, à la même époque et à l’issue de leur Assemblée Générale annuelle, les membres du Club Royal des Gastronomes de Belgique, se sont régalés au restaurant Comme Chez Soi **. Lionel Rigolet est un marchand de bonheur, les convives étaient unanimes. De la sélection des produits de grande qualité (crevette Nobachi, jets de houblon, cochon Duroc) au choix des assaisonnements, ou encore à la décoration méticuleuse des plats, Lionel porte son attention à tous les détails. Il remet également la sauce à l’honneur, des sauces légères et parfumées qui subliment le produit. L’accueil chaleureux et très souriant de son épouse Laurence met les hôtes immédiatement à l’aise, tout comme l’équipe de salle, au très grand professionnalisme, qui est discrète et efficace. [Photos] [Menu]

18 février

Bruneau *

Chef : Jean-Pierre Bruneau

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
La période de novembre à février, c’est la saison de la truffe noire, la tuber melanosporum. Ce champignon rare, odorant et précieux, en a fait rêver plus d’un. Comment la mettre en valeur ? C’est à Jean-Pierre Bruneau que nous l’avons demandé en réalisant pour notre Club un feuilleté de truffe au foie gras. Et Monsieur Bruneau ne badine pas avec la truffe car chaque convive a reçu un « diamant noir » entier d’environ quarante grammes. Les héros du repas étaient le goût et les produits. Pas de décorations inutiles ici. Pour débuter, un homard à la provençale qui fut applaudi pour sa sauce aillée. Suivit le chausson à la truffe qui en étonna plus d’un : Bernard Pacaud, chef du restaurant l’Ambroisie à Paris, appelle cette préparation « Feuilleté Bel Humeur » et on comprend pourquoi une fois l’avoir goûtée. Février, c’est aussi l’arrivée des tous premiers agneaux de lait. Ceux des Pyrénées en l’occurrence. Une chair blanche et délicate qui fond dans la bouche, et accompagnée par une belle collation légumière. Pour conclure un traditionnel soufflé au Grand Marnier. Pour les vins, nous avions opté pour les recommandations du sommelier en partant sur des millésimes relativement jeunes de Bordeaux (Château Haut-Plantade 2014), de Bourgogne (Savigny 1er Cru « Les Guettes » du domaine Louis Jadot) et de Côtes du Rhône (Les Abeilles 2013 de Jean-Luc Colombo). Le service attentif et prévenant de Véronique Dury et de son équipe était à la hauteur de cette grande maison de bouche Bruxelloise vieille de plus de quarante ans. [Photos] [Menu]

7 février

La Villa Lorraine *

Chef : Gary Kirchens

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Le Club a organisé un dîner en l’honneur de Sevi Avigdor, Président de l’Académie Américaine (secteur Est), venu à Paris pour prendre part à l’Assemblée Générale annuelle de l’Académie Internationale de la Gastronomie, et qui avait souhaité rentrer à New York en passant par Bruxelles. L’Académie Italienne de la Gastronomie ainsi que l’Académie Internationale de la Gastronomie étaient également représentées. Le dîner a eu lieu à La Villa Lorraine * et fut préparé par le jeune chef Gary Kirchens formé par quelques-uns des plus grands chefs, comme Le Squer et Gagnaire. Gary est le gagnant du prix du public du Concours 2016 « L’Étoile de la Cuisine belge. » Une belle re-découverte de ce restaurant emblématique de Bruxelles où le service reste très attentionné. Le menu de grande qualité mettant en scène homard, coquilles Saint-Jacques, coucou de Malines et truffe a ravi les convives. [Menu] [Article repris dans Civiltà della Tavola, April 2017, p. 46]

13 janvier

Bouchéry

Chef : Damien Bouchery

Site web


 Commentaire du Président
Décor épuré. Simplicité réfléchie. Abondance en légèreté. Accents végétaux. Vins méconnus bien assortis. Service souriant. Voici quelques impressions caractérisant le premier dîner 2017 de quelques membres du Club Royal des Gastronomes de Belgique. Damien Bouchery fait partie de ces cuisiniers qui ont commencé une transition vers une nouvelle façon de se nourrir : légumes, céréales, fruits, sont mis en valeur par des viandes et poissons de grande qualité, notamment les volailles de Frédéric Antoine. Une cuisine « naturelle. » Le pain maison essentiellement à l'épeautre est fabriqué à partir de levain. La grande sélection de vins biodynamiques proposée par Alexandre sublime les plats et permet d'éviter les maux de tête. La digestion est légère. [Photos]